Something to try?

20 Feb

I was browsing through the chicken newsletters that pop into my inbox on a daily basis, and one of the articles was about making Fermented Chicken Feed. Browsed around a little more and found decent instructions on how to do it and what kinds of feed to use.

I definitely think this is something I’ll want to try. I suspect a couple of our non-predator hen deaths were due to digestive upset, and fermenting increases digestibility, improves crop pH and adds good gut bacteria. It certainly couldn’t hurt, and I’m sure they’ll love it. Stuff like oatmeal and yogurt always vanishes first when they get it with their scraps!

Leave a Comment

The Electronic Homestead

I have plans. Big plans.

chrishernandezauthor

Author of Proof of Our Resolve

Lil Red Homestead

In the persuit of a sustainable life on micro acreage

Heedley's Hens

pampered hens laying fantastic eggs

Mental Farmer

Learning to write.

When Did This Become a Farm?

Homesteading, Homeschooling, and Homemaking in the PNW

My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

C. J.'s Bunnies

A blog about my adventures raising rabbits.

sorta like suburbia

more than you ever wanted to know about my garden

brown bird green string

old made new in an eco-conscious fashion

The Tiny Homesteaders

Reconnecting with agriculture on a domestic level.

Penny's Garden: a harvest beyond my front door

A novel approach to vegetable gardening

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

